Daring Bakers: Maple mousse filled leather fruit cups

 

Yay, I get out of my first Daring Bakers challenge very satisfied with the result!  The April 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Evelyne of the blog Cheap Ethnic Eatz. Evelyne chose to challenge everyone to make a maple mousse in an edible container. Prizes are being awarded to the most creative edible container and filling, so vote on your favorite from April 27th to May 27th at http://thedaringkitchen.com!

I immediately thought about using my dehydrator to make fruit leather that I could mold. Fruit leather is simply like a home made fruit roll-up, without the excess of uninteresting ingredients. A raw fruit is first pureed (some fruits are better suited for fruit leather, such as apple, pears and all juicy berries) and then spread on a plastic sheet before being dehydrated for about 10 hours, depending on the thickness of your layer of purée and its water content. The result is a sheet with a texture that ressembles real leather and can be eaten as an energetic snack, chopped to add to biscotti or added to cereals, etc.

What I’ve done differently this time, is that I removed the sheets from the dehydrator a bit earlier than usual. I wanted them to be solid, yet a bit sticky and very malleable. I then cut the sheets up in larges stripes that I used to line the inside of lightly oiled ramequins. I did one raspberry-pear cup and one only with raspberries. I put the ramequins in the dehydrator until the fruit leather got crispy, like a potatoe chip. I liked this idea, because maple sirup and fruit leather are both the produces of a slow evaporation process. Both also share caramelised flavors, dense and concentrated in sugar. On top of this, the texture of the cups allow for breaking up pieces to use them to spoon the mousse!

I’m not putting the mousse recipe up in English, as my blog is in in French and I’ve provided the recipe in a separate post.

To serve my purpose, I let the mousse firm up directly in a disposable pastry bag. I was concerned that the fruit leather would rehydrate if I let the mousse in it for too long.  Therefore, just before serving I filled up my little edible container with the mousse. Delicious, light (well, it feels light anyways, as in weightless, not fat free!), I really like the contrast between the container and its content: crackly vs creamy, acid vs fatty, chewy vs airy… All in all, I’m really happy that I’ve tried this and could share it with you.

À propos de gourmetronik

Curieux gourmand de la génération net Voir tous les articles par gourmetronik

8 responses to “Daring Bakers: Maple mousse filled leather fruit cups

  • Jenni

    Great job! The fruit leather is an excellent and super creative edible container!! It looks fantastic!!

  • gourmetronik

    @Sarah Thanks, it was fun to make and although it’s not a complex thing to do, it does look very classy.
    @Aparna I was actually surprised when i researched it and found nothing online. I thought many other people would have had the same idea, but it seems it was more original than I thought! Thanks for your visit and the nice compliment!

  • Aparna

    Fruit leather as containers is an unusual and interesting idea. Your mousse and containers contrasts look pretty good.

  • Sarah

    Fruit leather was a great idea! Congrats on a great execution of your first challenge.

  • gourmetronik

    @Suz Thanks for stopping by to check them out (and for the sweet compliments too!). The mousse was a bit on the overwhelmingly sweet side, so the concentrated tartness of the raspberriesreally played out well against it.

    @Annie Selon le type de ton four, ça peut se faire. Un four à convection qui permet de garder une chaleur très basse (entre 100 et 135°F) ferait l’affaire, si on laisse une petite ouverture dans la porte, parce qu’il permet de faire circuler une chaleur douce et sèche. Mais habituellement, les fours ne sont pas conçu pour maintenir une chaleur aussi basse et les fours sans convection mal adaptés à une déhydratation uniforme. Au soleil peut-être, par une journée très ensoleillée, pour la première déshydratation, et au four ensuite au plus bas possible une fois dans les ramequins. Je crois que c’est ce que j’essaierais.

  • Annie

    J’adore tes petits bols en pâte de fruits. Penses-tu que je pourrais faire mes pâtes au four puisque je n’ai pas de déshydrateur (et plus de place pour entrer de nouveaux gadgets dans ma cuisine!!!)? En tout cas, je trouve ta mousse vraiment appétissante. Félicitation pour ton premier défi Darings Bakers.

  • Suz

    These are so beautiful and elegant looking! I absolutely love how you made them and the contrast of flavours sounds lip-smackingly good.

Laisser un commentaire

